I am interested in - Select -
Customer Resources
Trucking Resources
Careers
Operations
Economic Development
Government Affairs
Community Involvement
I am interested in - Select -
Customer Resources
Trucking Resources
Careers
Operations
Economic Development
Government Affairs
Community Involvement

Health and Safety

The Port of Virginia pursues health and safety excellence through a rigorous program to identify hazards, develop solutions that will control those hazards, followed by motivating all terminal patrons toward safe behaviors.  Developing a strong culture of safety and delivering superior safety performance is achieved by having engaged leadership working with a committed and skilled workforce.  Our goal is to eliminate all injuries, equipment damage, cargo damage, and unsafe practices from our activities.  Toward this end, the documents that are linked below describe what is expected from every employee, contractor, vendor, motor carrier, government worker, and visitor who enters Port of Virginia Terminals.  If there are any comments regarding these policies or procedures, we encourage and appreciate your feedback.

Ronald Babski
Vice President, Health and Safety
Email: rbabski@vit.org
Phone: 757-635-4544

Health and Safety Team Contact Information

John Ratcliffe
General Manager, Health & Safety
Emailjratcliffe@vit.org
Phone: (757) 408-2868

Carter Mize
General Manager, Health & Safety
Email: cmize@vit.org
Phone: (757) 404-0193

Chris Green
Manager, Health & Safety
Email: cgreen@vit.org
Phone: (757) 613-5681

TJ Boothe
Assistant Manager, Health & Safety
Email: tboothe@vit.org
Phone: (757) 284-9958

Stefan Vecerdea
Assistant Manager, Health & Safety
Email: svecerdea@vit.org
Phone: (757) 266-7827

Andy Copley
Coordinator, Health & Safety
Emailacopley@vit.org
Phone: (757) 650-0901

Please report Near-Miss events 24/7 at 757-440-6800.

Important Documents 

  1. The Port of Virginia Operational Standards
  2. The Port of Virginia Response Guide
  3. Terminal Safety Excellence Program
  4. Health and Safety Rules – Terminal Patrons
  5. Health and Safety Rules – Motor Carriers
  6. The Port of Virginia Health and Safety Equipment Maps
  7. Safety Data Sheets

Pre-Shift Safety Talks