I am interested in - Select -
Customer Resources
Trucking Resources
Careers
Operations
Economic Development
Government Affairs
Community Involvement
I am interested in - Select -
Customer Resources
Trucking Resources
Careers
Operations
Economic Development
Government Affairs
Community Involvement

Health and Safety

It is the Port of Virginia’s objective that people who work in our terminals and facilities will experience zero injuries.  The safety of our activities will be referenced as a pre-condition, without exception.

Front line leaders are expected to be in the field on a regular basis and to carry a message of concern for the well-being of employees.  These same leaders are expected to take action when we detect any uncontrolled risk in our work environment that could lead to injury.  We will fix it promptly…and those on the terminals who are accomplishing the work every day will be challenged as safety champions and asked to report to the CEO/COO via the H&S team if any reported safety issues are not being addressed by managers.  

We will emphasize a climate in which every employee is treated with dignity and respect, every day, in everything that we do…regardless of rank or position.  Employees will be provided with the necessary training to promote safe and productive job performance as well as organizational recognition to enable a contribution that gives meaning to their lives in bringing commerce to Virginia.

Ronald Babski
Vice President, Health and Safety
Email: rbabski@vit.org
Phone: 757-635-4544

Health and Safety Team Contact Information

John Ratcliffe
Director, Health & Safety
Emailjratcliffe@vit.org
Phone: (757) 408-2868

Carter Mize
Director, Health & Safety
Email: cmize@vit.org
Phone: (757) 404-0193

Chris Green
Manager, Health & Safety
Email: cgreen@vit.org
Phone: (757) 613-5681

TJ Boothe
Assistant Manager, Health & Safety
Email: tboothe@vit.org
Phone: (757) 284-9958

Stefan Vecerdea
Assistant Manager, Health & Safety
Email: svecerdea@vit.org
Phone: (757) 266-7827

Andy Copley
Coordinator, Health & Safety
Emailacopley@vit.org
Phone: (757) 650-0901

Please report Mishaps, Near-miss events, and Hazards 24/7 at 757-440-7070 or healthandsafety@vit.org.

Important Documents 

  1. The Port of Virginia Operational Standards
  2. The Port of Virginia Response Guide
  3. Terminal Safety Excellence Program
  4. Health and Safety Rules – Terminal Patrons
  5. Health and Safety Rules – Motor Carriers
  6. The Port of Virginia Health and Safety Equipment Maps
  7. Safety Data Sheets

Pre-Shift Safety Talks